Crave Sugar After Labor Day Feasts?

Coach Josh ate too much ‘good’ food over the Labor Day weekend and is paying the price. It’s OK to do this as long as we get right back on track. Here’s Josh’s answer to a problem most of us face from time to time…

My nephew, Isaac, came into town this past weekend to celebrate Labor Day and it was great to see him and go boating on the lake. However, the truth is … it was difficult to stick to my regular eating and activity program. (Maybe you can relate?)

This is why today I’m craving all sorts of “bad foods” that I know aren’t good for my belly. I’m talking mainly about SUGAR, which is the main cause of belly fat for most people.

Did you know that scientists say sugar is as addictive as some drugs including cocaine, so it’s no wonder we can’t get enough once we start eating more of it.

With all of this in mind, here are THREE things I’m doing today to help KILL my sugar cravings so I can fight fat and burn off the extra calories I ate this past weekend. (You should do these, too.)

Tip #1: Shake n’ Bake

That’s actually a quote from the movie “Talladega Nights” with Will Farrell but my translation of this quote is “Let’s get going!” And by that I mean some form of moving your body. When you exercise your body releases feel good hormones that act as “crowbars” to pry away unhealthy sugar cravings. Have a craving for sugar? Do 2 minutes of exercise (like climbing stairs or squatting in place) and notice how they decrease.

Tip #2: Drink Like a Fish

Many people battle false food cravings that are really THIRST cravings. (So True.) Many times your brain detects that you are low on water and it sends out a craving signal for you to drink more water but it’s misinterpreted as hunger. In fact, many people walk around in a mild state of dehydration all day and wonder why they can’t overcome cravings. Divide your body weight in half and drink that many ounces of water each day. For example, I weigh 180 pounds so I shoot for 90 ounces of water consumption each day. It helps to flush my system and hydrate my body to burn fat and fight cravings optimally. Try it!

Tip #3: Don’t Eat By Accident

There’s a big difference in trying to lose weight by choosing healthy foods… and actually following a PLAN where you know exactly when, what and how much you’re going to eat each day and then tracking the results and adjusting accordingly. Make a list of what you’re going to eat for the next day each night (and make sure you have this food available) and stick to your plan. Eating by accident leads to extra calories in the form of snacking, larger portions and eating the wrong foods.

Hope you enjoyed this article!

Sincerely,

Coach Josh

About talknshare

My study of how to achieve and keep good health began when I was 18 and has been my lifelong passion. I have learned much over the years and when my T.O.P.S. group dissolved, I created Talk 'N Share. Life happened and I have not done anything with it until now. Since the beginning of this year I have learned many important things and wish to share with others, who like myself, may find it nearly impossible to lose those last few pounds and maintain the loss already achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.