Drink This Instead Of Milk

Coach Josh is answering some questions and invites you to submit yours—

READER’S QUESTION<<<

Hi, Coach Josh! A lot of my friends have switched from drinking low-fat or skim milk to drinking almond milk. I thought that milk was good for me. Why should I switch to almond milk? — Barbara, Victoria, Australia

JOSH’S ANSWER<<<

I don’t know about you, but as a teenager I grew up drinking about a half-gallon of cow’s milk every day in Iowa.  I can even remember my mom yelling at me for drinking out of the plastic carton, “Josh that is disgusting, get a glass!”

Ahh, teenage boys, they’ll eat you out of house and home.

Back to the question at hand, let’s take a little deeper look into this popular “milk switch” to see if it has some merit for reducing body fat levels and improving health.

Cup for cup, unsweetened almond milk is a superior choice over skim milk, especially over milk that you can purchase in a grocery store. An 8-ounce serving of almond milk contains about 50 less calories than an 8-ounce serving of skim milk.

That same serving of skim milk packs 12 grams of sugar—most of which is lactose, a sugar that creates digestive issues for many people. A cup of almond milk, on the other hand, is sugar-free and even boasts 1 gram of fiber. (I often add a little natural sweetener to my milk by the way.)

Milk enthusiasts would argue that they prefer milk because of its high calcium content. Well, a serving of almond milk actually contains over 60% MORE calcium than skim milk! You’ll get 450mg of bone-building calcium from almond milk, whereas you’ll only be getting 275mg from a comparable serving of skim milk.

Also, almond milk is loaded with Vitamin D – 25% of your daily requirements for the “sunshine vitamin” – and the powerful antioxidants of Vitamin E (50% of your daily needs in one cup). Compare that to virtually none of the above from a cup of skim milk.

While almond milk does contain 3 grams of fat, about 2/3 of that is the heart-healthy monounsaturated variety.

And we haven’t even touched on the subject of commercially-raised cows, which are fed inferior foods (i.e., genetically-modified corn) and pumped with potentially dangerous growth hormones and antibiotics, all of which could be passed on to you. (Yuck!)

Sounds to me like making the “switch” from skim milk to almond milk can help burn the belly bulge and improve your health.

Have a question for me? Post it on my blog and I’ll do my best to get to it in a future newsletter. (And one random person who posts will get a complimentary Bio Trust product of his or her choice!)

Ask Me Your Flat Belly Question Below.

You can see some questions, comments, and Add yours if you like.

coach josh

Coach Josh

About talknshare

My study of how to achieve and keep good health began when I was 18 and has been my lifelong passion. I have learned much over the years and when my T.O.P.S. group dissolved, I created Talk 'N Share. Life happened and I have not done anything with it until now. Since the beginning of this year I have learned many important things and wish to share with others, who like myself, may find it nearly impossible to lose those last few pounds and maintain the loss already achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Drink This Instead Of Milk

  1. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

    • talknshare says:

      This is a free WordPress site and gives me everything I need to make a blog the way I’d like it to be. I have software on my computer that enables me to fix pictures before up-loading to my blog. If you’re not able to do a site like this yourself, I know there are people and companies that can help you.

  2. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this website’s posts all the time along with a mug of coffee.

Comments are closed.