Oatmeal– good or bad?

oatmeal2Recently Joel and Josh told us all about the pitfalls of instant oatmeal and why we should be sticking to good old-fashioned steel cut oats instead.

**Lower glycemic index and blood sugar response
**Greater satiety (you feel fuller, longer)
**Greater vitamin and mineral content
**Greater overall nutritional value

Besides, if you’re like most, you’ll MUCH prefer the firmer texture and nuttier flavor of steel-cut oats over mushy, bland instant oatmeal.

But even steel coat oats can be pretty plain by themselves, so here are a number of ways to spice up your morning oatmeal and turn it into a bowl of certified deliciousness®:

1. Add honey and berries. Strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and/or blackberries are all extremely low glycemic and are packed with inflammation and disease fighting antioxidants…drizzle with a little honey and enjoy the sweet goodness. Very filling, fiber packed…you’ll love it.

2. Add unsweetened cocoa powder, stevia, and banana slices. This is another one of my faves. 1 tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder contains only 12 calories and adds another 2 grams of fiber to your oatmeal! Sweeten it up with some stevia or truvia, and then top with banana slices. Tastes like dessert… only it’s oatmeal!

Joel Marion, CISSN

About talknshare

My study of how to achieve and keep good health began when I was 18 and has been my lifelong passion. I have learned much over the years and when my T.O.P.S. group dissolved, I created Talk 'N Share. Life happened and I have not done anything with it until now. Since the beginning of this year I have learned many important things and wish to share with others, who like myself, may find it nearly impossible to lose those last few pounds and maintain the loss already achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oatmeal– good or bad?

  1. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your website is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a great website.

Comments are closed.