Instant Peach Ice Cream (Dairy-free)

We have discovered a delightful website that contains tons of yummy and healthy food recipes for the whole family- from baby to grandpa, everyone can enjoy healthy eating at it’s most delicious best!!

Welcome!

My mission is to share easy recipes with simple ingredients to make healthy living more accessible!

Megan

We had an unusually hot and humid weekend here in Southern California, so making ice cream seemed like an appropriate way to cool off.

healthy-peach-ice-creamThis peach ice cream was inspired by a peach farm my family used to visit when we lived in Georgia. After collecting some freshly picked peaches, my parents would treat us to their house-made peach ice cream, and it was, by far, my favorite part of the whole visit.

While my recipe doesn’t taste exactly like the farm-fresh version, it does get bonus points for being incredibly fast to prepare. It’s ready to eat in just minutes! What I also love about this quick ice cream is that it is completely adaptable. You can add the sweetener as you go, so it tastes exactly the way you want it to, and while I used coconut milk for creaminess, you could use any other milk option you like. You could even use water, instead of milk, for a peach sorbet, if you prefer.

This method would work for any frozen fruit you have on hand, too, so feel free to get creative!

Instant Peach Ice Cream (Dairy-free)
Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 (16 ounce) bag frozen peaches
1/2 cup coconut milk, or non-dairy milk of choice
3 tablespoons honey, plus more to taste
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Directions:

Combine the frozen peaches, milk, honey, and lemon juice in a large food processor fitted with an “S” blade, and process until creamy, stopping to scrape down the sides, if necessary. Taste the ice cream, and add more sweetener, if desired.

Note: For a neutral sweet flavor, I sometimes like to use a mix of honey and pure maple syrup, so that the resulting recipe doesn’t taste too much like one sweetener or another. If you choose to add more sweetener than this recipe calls for, you may want to use half maple syrup and half honey to avoid an overpowering flavor from either ingredient.

easy-peach-ice-creamThis ice cream can be served directly from the food processor, with a soft-serve type consistency, or you can freeze it for a few hours for a more firm result. Store any leftovers in an airtight container in the freezer for up to one month. Once frozen, you’ll need to let the ice cream thaw for 10 minutes or so at room temperature, until it’s scoop-able again.

Enjoy!

See more from Megan at her awesome website here!

About talknshare

My study of how to achieve and keep good health began when I was 18 and has been my lifelong passion. I have learned much over the years and when my T.O.P.S. group dissolved, I created Talk 'N Share. Life happened and I have not done anything with it until now. Since the beginning of this year I have learned many important things and wish to share with others, who like myself, may find it nearly impossible to lose those last few pounds and maintain the loss already achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.